Worry

Worry

Wrote this in Oct after the Oregon shooting…my heart is heavy…

Life is Like a Roller Coaster Ride

I keep busy at work…which is a good thing. No time to surf the internet like previous jobs. So I get home tonight and do my ritual: play ball with the dog, greet the cat, and turn on my computer to check Facebook and WordPress. And what do I see?!? Another shooting. More deaths. And my heart just sunk. I’m tired of this. What do we need to do so this stops happening?!? Why is it always in the US and not Canada or other countries?!? I don’t know if my heart and soul can take any more of these innocent lives lost. I’m so worried about this country I live in and I shouldn’t have to worry. But I do…I really do.

I don’t know what the answer is….do you?!?!

I want this to stop happening.

..

View original post

4 thoughts on “Worry

    1. You know, that has been my gut reaction since Columbine…but someone wrote on a friend’s facebook post this the other day: “Mass murder is the only crime where society blames the tool instead of the individual responsible. When a drunk driver kills a family of four I never see an uprising for prohibition to be reinstated or a ban on automobiles. If society decides to ban guns then expect future mass murders to be executed with bombs. What we need to focus on is how to identify these individuals before they can attempt these senseless acts.” And someone else wrote this: “This shooter was trained. He was licensed. All of this man’s life had him geared to law enforcement procedures. He was a by-the-book, law-abiding-citizen (under investigation, but not a convict) up until he pulled the trigger. I don’t see this as a gun regulation problem. This is a people problem.” .And it’s got me thinking…

      Like

      1. I would agree the root cause is not the weapon, however when you compare mass shooting stats in the US to the rest of the world, the difference is staggering. The reason? People may still want to do these things elsewhere, but those countries don’t make it easy for them to act on it.

        Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear what you think...

