There is light

There is light

.Many years ago, I used to work in a group home that had four men in wheelchairs-three were born with developmentally disabilities and one was in a football accident when he was in high school and never talked or wallked again. All four men smiled for different reasons and when they smiled, the room lite up. And really, isn’t that all that matters?!? That we live in a world with light and not darkness?

A few days ago, I had the thought: “I should sell all my stuff and move to Jamaica.” Life was getting hard…But then, this soft voice said: “Lisa, it’s not going to be hard forever and it will get better.” I believe the answers to our struggles might not be known right away, but eventually, it all works out in the end.

When I first started at my new job, I held a therapy session for a mother and her grown son. I witnessed a mother’s love for her grown son who doesn’t work, who isn’t able to “give back” to society in any way, and who spends his days at home. Why?!? Because the voices in his head can get too loud sometimes and makes it hard for him to function in this world. But you know what, he still brings so much meaning, love, and light to his mother’s life.

I’ve been saying a lot lately to clients that all they see is dark, but if they hang on and keep fighting, there will be light. It might not happen tomorrow, or next week, but it will happen. There is light.

 

8 thoughts on “There is light

Would love to hear what you think...

