I’m fascinated with the brain

I’m fascinated with the brain

As I have met more and more people the last several years who are psychotic, I’ve become more fascinated with the human brain. Part of me thinks I should go back to school and study neuroscience. It’s truly mind blowing the delusions people have that are not drug induced. Schizophrenia is defined by the National Institue of Mental Health as a “chronic, severe, and disabling brain disorder that has affected people throughout history. People with the disorder may hear voices other people don’t hear. They may believe other people are reading their minds, controlling their thoughts, or plotting to harm them.”

In the past two months, I’ve heard clients talk about the “mean lady,” or “the spirit,” or “the voices” they hear that are negative. I’ve seen clients respond to these voices like they are real. I just told a client today that the strength he has to get up each day and deal with this voice in his head is inspiring. That I can’t imagine what it would be like and I hope he realizes the strength that he has.

I think many of us take for granted the mind that we are given. Most of us are fortunate to not have to deal with hallucinations or delusions on a daily or weekly basis year afer year.  Because of this, we truly are blessed. I’ve seen what brain disorders can do to someone, and man,  it’s not pretty.

One thought on “I’m fascinated with the brain

  1. I agree completely. I have wondered why the voices or hallucinations are always negative. Why don’t they recieve messages to pick some flowers or do some housework instead of being told to hurt themselves or someone else? Very sad.

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear what you think...

